Devon is a county in the South West of England. It is the forth largest county in England (by area), having two separate coasts and a varied and beautiful landscape. Devon has a relatively low population density (for England), with a total population of just over one million inhabiting 2589 square miles. Devon borders Cornwall to the west and Somerset and Dorset to the east.

Most of Devon is rural, the main population centres are Plymouth, Torbay and the county town of Exeter. Large areas are semi-wild and mostly uninhabited, including the national parks of Dartmoor and Exmoor. The main economies are farming (especially dairy) and tourism. Tourism in Devon is centred on the South East coast, North coast and the moors. The climate is mild winters and warm summers, not as hot or dry as the South of England. Devon gets a lot of rain, particularly to the west of Dartmoor.

Main rail links are to Plymouth and Barnstaple, both via Exeter. By road, the M5 motorway ends at Exeter, with dual carriageways to Torquay, Plymouth and Okehampton. For North Devon, take the north devon link road from the M5 to Barnstaple shortly after the Devon sign on the M5 south

Devon Regions

North Devon  South Hams  East Devon  West Devon  Dartmoor  Exmoor  Torbay

Latest Destinations

Latest Devon Articles